Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Seven Life Processes

The Brown Bear

Emma Graham

on 22 January 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Seven Life Processes

The Brown Bear Brown bears are powerful animals, their natural enemy is humans. If they are not hunted and killed they can live for up to 25 years. They are endangered because of hunting and loss of habitation. They live in the forests and mountains of North America, Europe and Asia. A brown bear is a solitary animal unless they come together to find fish or when they mate. Introduction The Seven Life Processes of a Brown Bear There are Seven life processes for all living things.

Living things are able to do things that a non-living thing may not be able to, like grow, move, feed and reproduce. Despite their enormous size, brown bears are extremely fast and can reach speeds of up to 55mph. Although they can stand on two legs to reach food or frighten off an enemy, they run with their legs and arms on the ground, this helps them build up more speed. Brown bears are mammals and when they eat and drink their body breaks down the food to give it the correct nutrients, energy and other nutrition required. Their body then gets rid of any waste which normally has grass or roots and is a blackish-red colour. At one point there were up to 100,000 bears but this has been reduced to approximately 10,000. Bears occupy areas of up to 150 square miles. The area will provide food with a high elevation point and good soil for digging. They also like vegetation for roof support on their den. They use their scent glands to identify their cubs, other bears, their den, humans and to understand their general surroundings and what/who shares their space. Brown bears mate from June to July. Female bears go to their den while pregnant. They give birth during the winter rest, usually to a pair of cubs. Females only reproduce once every three years. Nutrition Respiration Movement Reproduction Sensitivity Much of a bears diet is made up of nuts, berries, fruit, leaves and roots. Bears eat other animals like rodents and moose but they also love fish! They are omnivores (eat plant & animal) and will feed between 5 - 7 months to meet their nutritional needs before hibernation. Growth Excretion Brown bears eat plants, fish and meat. This allows the body to convert oxygen and sugars into energy. The bear needs to eat enough during summer months as it will lose energy while hibernating, also food is scarce in winter. Cubs nurse on their mothers milk until spring and will stay with her until they are two and a half years old. They are grown enough to become solitary and have learned to feed themselves properly. Bone growth continues until their 6th year. When a brown bear is fully grown it can reach a height of between 5 - 8ft and can weigh 700lbs. The average length of a brown bear is 1.8m
Full transcript