Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Make your likes visible on Facebook?

Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.

No, thanks

To all the boys I've Loved Before

No description

Ann Elizabeth Yocum

on 9 December 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of To all the boys I've Loved Before

To all the Boys I've Loved Before


"Love is scary; it changes; it can go away. That's part of the risk. I don't want to be scared anymore." -Lara Jean

"When someone's been gone a long time, at first you try to save up all of the things you want to tell them. You try to keep track of everything in your head. But it's like trying to hold on to a fistful of sand; all of the little bits slip out of your hands, and then you're just clutching air and grit." -Lara Jean

"Do you know what it's like to like someone so much you can't stand it and know that they'll never feel the same way?" -Lara Jean

To all the Boys I've Loved Before
takes place in:

present day times
a cozy home in a large city
Major Characters
Lara Jean, the narrator, writes letters to all of the boys she has ever loved. She lives with her father and two sisters.
Margot is one of Lara Jean's sisters who goes to Scotland to college and leaves a heartbroken ex-boyfriend behind.
Josh, the boy next door, used to date Margot but secretly falls in love with another girl.
Peter is one Lara Jean's past loves who she has written a letter to.
Loyalty in the novel is expressed in the actions of Lara Jean. Her mother died when Lara Jean was younger, leaving Margot to take over responsibility. When Margot goes to college in Scotland, it's up to Lara Jean to take over.
Lara Jean, the narrator, is a hopeless romantic. She has written all of the boys she has ever loved a letter. Growing up, she learns there is another love that endures forever and that is the love her family has for each other.
Minor Characters
Jenny Han
- A cozy home similar to the one Lara Jean and her family live in
This looks like a letter that Lara Jean wrote to one of her past loves.
This symbol stands for loyalty.
Kitty is Lara Jean's little sister whose real name is Katherine.
This symbol represents love in the Korean culture.
Praise for the Novel
"Lara Jean's personality--goofy, awkward, prone to strong emotions, and entirely naive when it comes to boys-- gives this touching story an individuality and charm all its own. Han creates a realistically flawed cast, especially half-Korean Lara Jean and her sisters, who work hard to be good to one another after their mother's death (even when they're at one another's throats.)"
-Publishers Weekly, starred review

"An ultimately compelling exploration of teenage growth and young love."

"One of the 15 most exciting books of 2014."

"A wonderful choice for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins."
-Booklist, March 15, 2014
1000 Years by Christina Perri
By: Ann Elizabeth Yocum
Full transcript