Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Hero's Journey

No description

Suzanne Doran

on 16 October 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Hero's Journey

Phase 2: The Initiation Phase 1: Separation from the Comfortable (or from the Known) Phase 3: The Return to Everyday Life

Step 8: Return with a Gift Phase 1: Separation from the Comfortable

Step 1: The Call to Adventure
Step 2: The Threshold of Adventure • In other words, there is one basic myth that forms the basis of every myth, and every myth has a hero.  This can also apply to the lives of real people - including our own lives!

• According to Joseph Campbell there is a distinct pattern to every hero's journey made up of phases and steps.   • Myths begin from the particular problems and concerns of a people,  but on a deeper level their source is the universal soul of the human race itself.  

• It’s not really important to figure out the history or setting of a myth, but it is important to understand the meaning of a myth.

• Myths have heros who battle personal and historical limitations. • Comparing myths from different time periods and places in the world shows patterns in humanity.
• Just as certain physical traits are common to humans wherever and whenever the live, so are certain psychological traits.  
• Myths  are “timeless and placeless... they are true nowhere and everywhere.” Mythology
and the
Hero’s Journey Phase 3: The Return Buddha
Muhammad And real people: Star Wars
Harry Potter series
The Hobbit
Lord of the Rings
Alice in Wonderland
The Hunger Games In pop culture: Gilgamesh
The Odyssey
Sundiata In mythology: Examples of Monomyths
and the
Hero’s Journey Phase 2: The Initiation

Step 3: The Challenges (Tests and Ordeals)
Step 4: The Abyss
Step 5: Transformation
Step 6: Revelation (happens along with Transformation)
Step 7: Atonement Hero’s Journey:
Three Phases & Eight Steps • Joseph Campbell a world famous mythologist who wrote a book called "The Hero With a Thousand Faces" (as well as many others).  

• His idea is that there is something called a ‘monomyth.'

• This can also be called the ‘Hero’s Journey.’     Joseph Campbell • Myths might be called the dreams of all of humankind.  Dreams are ‘escape valves’ for individuals and represent wishes and fears.  Myths serve humanity in the same manner. • The word myth come from the Greek root ‘mu’ meaning to make a sound with the mouth.
• Myths are humanity’s quest or journey for self, for truth, for meaning. What is a myth? • Step #1:The Call to Adventure...

• Invites us into the adventure
• May be a sudden, traumatic change
• May be a vague sense of discontent
• Can take many forms:
• Something is taken from us
• Something is lacking in life
• Desire to restore honor
• To win rights for our people Step #2: Threshold of Adventure
• When called to adventure, we must
cross the Threshold.
• The Threshold is the “jumping off
point” or the gateway to the unknown. • At the threshold, we will encounter Helpers.
1. Often they bring a talisman to help us
through the ordeal.
2. The most important of these helpers is the
mentor, who provides wisdom, not just help.
3. Helpers and guides appear throughout the journey. Step # 3: The Challenges
• Once past the Threshold, we begin the journey into the unknown.
• The journey can be outward into a physical unknown.
• The journey can be inward to a psychological unknown. Step # 4: The Abyss
• This is the low point for the hero.
• Here the hero must do battle with his or her greatest internal or external fear.
• At this point, the hero is often alone.
• Here the hero must “slay the dragon,” which often takes the shape of something he dreads,
or has repressed, or needs to resolve. Step #5: The Transformation
• As the hero conquers the Abyss, his / her transformation is complete.
• Like the Phoenix, a part of the hero must
die so that a new part can be reborn.
• Fear must die to make way for courage, ignorance for enlightenment, dependency
for independence. • There are Threshold Guardians: people, beings or situations that block passage. They have two functions:

1. To protect us from journeys we are unready for
2. To point the way Step # 6: The Revelation
• Part of the Transformation is a Revelation, a sudden, dramatic change in the way the hero thinks or views life.
• This change makes him truly a different person. Step # 7: The Atonement
• After the Transformation the hero achieves Atonement, that is he is “at one” with his new self.
• The hero has incorporated the changes caused by the Journey and is “reborn.” Step # 8: The Return
• After Transformation and Atonement, the
hero faces the final stage of his journey: The
Return to everyday life.
• Upon the return, the hero discovers his gift –
• of becoming richer and stronger
• of becoming a great leader
• of becoming spiritually enlightened.
Full transcript