Sharing and Setting the Privacy State of Your Prezi Classic Presentations

This support page is about Prezi Classic. If you’re looking for help with Prezi Next, please click here.

Learn about you can spread your work (or not) and how to make your prezis private. Check out this video for a great start.

Sharing a prezi

  1. Go to your prezi dashboard and hover over the prezi you wish to share.
  2. Click View prezi.
  3. Click Share on the option located under your prezi. Alternatively, click on the button that appears to the bottom right of your prezi located next to the trash icon. Depending on the status of your prezi, it will read “Private,” “Hidden,” or “Public.”

You will see the “Share” pop-up window that includes the privacy slider.

Type the name (if you've already collaborated through Prezi Classic) or e-mail address of the person you wish to share the prezi with into the box found in the “Add people” section.

You will then be able to set the person as either an editor or viewer of the prezi. Please note that you can only add someone as an editor or viewer if that person has a Prezi Classic account.

Once you're ready to add someone, click Add. You will see a message that a confirmation e-mail has been sent.

The person you added will then receive an e-mail like the one below that includes an "Edit" or “View” button that gives access your prezi.

You can also a share prezi by sending the link that appears beneath the privacy slider. Remember that you can't send a link that will allow someone to edit a prezi, only to view it.
Click here for more information on the privacy slider and links.

Back to top

Changing rights and removing people from a prezi

Open the sharing pop-up as described in the steps above. At the bottom of the pop-up you will see a list of names. Next to each name, you will find an icon that reflects that person's current status relating to the prezi you have selected.

To change someone's status, click on the user's name. A drop-down menu will appear, and from here you can choose to allow them to be an editor or viewer, or you can completely remove their access to the prezi.

Back to top

Allowing someone to duplicate your prezi

If you are an Enjoy, Edu Enjoy, Pro, or Edu Pro License holder and you set your prezi to “Hidden” or “Private,” you can enable a user who has access to your prezi to duplicate it. If you allow someone to duplicate your prezi, they can make their own version and edit it as they wish, without changing the contents of your prezi. Allowing someone to duplicate a prezi can be useful when working on a group project.

To allow a user to duplicate your prezi, just tick the box that reads “Allow others to duplicate this prezi” located in the “Share” pop-up window. When you do so, only people who have the link for a hidden prezi or have been given special permission to access a private prezi can duplicate that particular prezi.

Setting the privacy status of a prezi

Your choice of privacy settings depend on which Prezi Classic license you have.

Public license holders

After opening the pop-up following the instructions above, Public license users can allow the public to reuse their prezi. To do so, keep the box marked “Allow public reuse and help spread ideas” checked. If you do not want to allow your prezi to be reused, simply uncheck the box. When prezis are not made available for reuse, a copy cannot be made.

Note: Prezi Classics made with public licenses are set to “Public and Reuseable” by default.

When you allow others to reuse your prezi, it is viewable to the world and searchable on our Explore page, where users can get tons of ideas and inspiration. Furthermore, a reusable prezi means anyone can save a copy of it and then reuse the content for themselves in their own separate prezi.

Enjoy, Edu Enjoy, Pro, and Edu Pro license holders

The privacy state of a prezi is controlled via the privacy slider that appears when you open the sharing pop-up window as described in the steps above.

Making your prezi public

To make a prezi reusable, from the share window, drag the slider to the extreme right to set your prezi as “Public,” and then check the box to “Allow public reuse and help spread ideas.”

When you allow others to reuse your prezi, it is viewable to the world and searchable on our Explore page, where users can get tons of ideas and inspiration. Furthermore, a reusable prezi means anyone can save a copy of it and then reuse the content for themselves in their own separate prezi. If you don’t check the box, it is not possible to save a copy of a prezi in this state.

Making your prezi hidden

When Enjoy, Edu Enjoy, Pro, and Edu Pro license holders make a prezi, it is set to “Hidden” by default. This means the prezi is not viewable or searchable on the Prezi Classic Explore page and can be viewed only by someone who has a link to it.

When you set your prezi to hidden, you can allow others to duplicate it. This means that they can make their own version and edit it as they wish, without changing the contents of your prezi. Enabling a user to duplicate your prezi can be useful when working on a group project.

To allow a user to duplicate your prezi, just tick the box that reads “Allow others to duplicate this prezi” located in the “Share” pop-up window. When you do so, only people who have the link for a hidden prezi or have been given special permission to access a private prezi can duplicate that particular prezi.

Making your prezi private

Enjoy, Edu Enjoy, Pro, and Edu Pro license holders can make their prezis private and viewable only to those who have been given permission. You can find the list of people who can view a private prezi beneath the privacy slider. Note that the box containing a link disappears when the slider to private is set. A private prezi is not searchable or viewable on our Explore page.

When you set your prezi to private, you can allow others to duplicate it. This means that the people you have shared your prezis with can make their own version and edit that as they wish, without changing the contents of your prezi. Enabling a user to duplicate your prezi can be useful when working on a group project.

To allow a user to duplicate your prezi, just tick the box that reads “Allow others to duplicate this prezi” located in the “Share” pop-up window. When you do so, only people who have special permission to access the private prezi can duplicate that particular prezi.

Every time that you change the privacy level of a prezi, you will see a message like the one below appear stating that the privacy level has been saved.

Note: You do not need an account to view a prezi with a link. Links to prezis never expire, so you can continually send them to share your work.

Was this helpful?    

Thanks for the feedback!

Could this be better?  Yes, let me comment.

  Only our editor will see your comments.

Don’t see what you’re looking for?  Please log in to see the support options.