Setting the Privacy of Prezis

This support page is about Prezi Classic. If you’re looking for help with Prezi Next, please click here.

Keep your prezis private or share them with the world. With Prezi Classic, it’s easy to adjust your privacy settings. Start with this video to learn more.

Accessing privacy settings

Your choice of privacy settings depend on which Prezi Classic license you have.

To change the privacy state of a prezi

  1. From your prezi dashboard, click on the three dots in the lower right corner. You’ll get the options menu.
  2. Select Privacy and sharing to get the pop-up window.
  3. Under “Who can see this prezi?” click on the privacy setting of your choice.

Public license holders

Prezis made with public licenses are public and reusable by default. This means that your prezi is searchable and viewable to the world on our Explore page. Furthermore, a reusable prezi means anyone can save a copy of it and then reuse the content for themselves in their own separate prezi.

To change whether or not your prezi is reusable, go to your privacy settings by following the steps above. There will be a box checked that reads “Allow others to duplicate this prezi.” If you do not want to allow your prezi to be reused, simply uncheck the box. When prezis are not made available for reuse, a copy cannot be made.

Edu Enjoy, Enjoy, Edu Pro, Pro, and Pro Plus license holders

The privacy state of a prezi is controlled via the “Privacy & Share” pop-up as described in the steps above.

Making a prezi public and reusable

Anyone can share their prezi with the world. To do so, click Anyone in the “Privacy & Share” pop-up, and your prezi will also be searchable and viewable on our Explore page. If you also want to allow users to save a copy check the box next to “Allow others to duplicate this prezi.”

Making a prezi hidden

Edu Enjoy, Enjoy, Edu Pro, Pro, and Pro Plus license holders can make their prezi hidden, meaning it can be viewed by anyone with its link, but it is not searchable or viewable on our Explore page.

Please note that anyone with a link to a hidden prezi can view it. This means that if you send the link to someone, that person can then send it to anyone else. Furthermore, if someone pastes the link on a forum or website, that link will then be indexed by search engines. Once you send out a link to a hidden prezi, it can be spread to the world. To keep the prezi completely private, please use the “My collaborators” setting.

Allowing duplication of a hidden prezi

When you set your prezi to be viewable by “People with the link,” you can allow others to duplicate it. This means that they can make their own version and edit it as they wish, without changing the contents of your prezi. Enabling a user to duplicate your prezi can be useful when working on a group project.

To allow a user to duplicate your prezi, just tick the box that reads “Allow others to duplicate this prezi” located in the“Privacy & Share” pop-up. When you do so, only people who have the link for a hidden prezi or have been given special permission to access a private prezi can duplicate that particular prezi.

Making a prezi private

If you set your prezi to be viewable by “My collaborators,” it can be seen by only the people added to the list of people found in the “Collaborators” section and is not searchable or viewable on our Explore page.

Edu Enjoy, Enjoy, Edu Pro, Pro, and Pro Plus license holders can make their prezis private and viewable only to those who have been given permission. You can find the list of people in your “Collaborators” section.

Every time that you change the privacy level of a prezi, you'll see a message stating that the privacy level has been saved.

Allowing duplication of a private prezi

When you set your prezi to be viewable by “My collaborators,” you can allow others to duplicate it. This means that they can make their own version and edit it as they wish, without changing the contents of your prezi. Enabling a user to duplicate your prezi can be useful when working on a group project.

To allow a user to duplicate your prezi, just tick the box that reads “Allow others to duplicate this prezi” located in the“Privacy & Share” pop-up. When you do so, only people in your “Collaborators” list can access a private prezi can duplicate that particular prezi.

Important notes

  • Whatever the status of your prezi (even private), if you assign someone as a co-editor, they are able to make a copy and download the prezi.
  • You do not need a Prezi Classic license to view a prezi with a link.
  • Links to prezis never expire.

Was this helpful?    

Thanks for the feedback!

Could this be better?  Yes, let me comment.

  Only our editor will see your comments.

Don’t see what you’re looking for?  Please log in to see the support options.