Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Grief and Loss Counseling

No description

Magnolia Kortland

on 25 October 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Grief and Loss Counseling

Grief and Loss Counseling
What is Grief?
Grief is the process we experience as the result of a loss. It involves a series of stages including denial or disbelief, fear, anger, depression, and finally acceptance.
What is loss?
Besides experiencing the death of a love one, there are many kinds of loss, including divorce, illness or loss of a job.
Coping with Grief

Grieving affects people in different ways. The grieving process is very personal and individual. Some people reach out for support from others and find comfort in good memories.

Five Stages of Grief
Denial and Isolation
Denial and Isolation

It is a normal reaction to rationalize overwhelming emotions. It is a defense mechanism that buffers the immediate shock. We block out the words and hide from the facts. This is a temporary response that carries us through the first wave of pain.
The anger may be aimed at inanimate objects, complete strangers, friends or family. Anger may be directed at our dying or deceased loved one. Rationally, we know the person is not to be blamed. Emotionally, however, we may resent the person for causing us pain or for leaving us. We feel guilty for being angry, and this makes us more angry.
Full transcript