Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Buddhism Graphic Organizer

Four Noble Truths Eightfold Path Buddha Five Precepts

Morgan Logue

on 28 September 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Buddhism Graphic Organizer

Buddhism Graphic Organizer Eightfold Path Buddha and the 5 Precepts 2. Do not steal 4. Do not lie Origin of Buddha It is a respect to other's properties and the right to own property. If something is not given, one may not take it away by stealing, by force or by fraud. To refrain from telling lies is to show respect for the truth. Siddhartha Gautama was born in approximately 560 B.C. in northern India. His father Suddhodana was the ruler over a district near the Himalayas which is today the country of Nepal. Suddhodana sheltered his son from the outside world and confined him to the palace where he surrounded Gautama with pleasures and wealth. Despite his father's efforts, Gautama one day saw the darker side of life on a trip he took outside the palace walls.
He saw four things that forever changed his life: an old man, a sick man, a dead man, and a beggar. Deeply distressed by the suffering he saw, he decided to leave the luxury of palace life and begin a quest to find the answer to the problem of pain and human suffering.
Gautama left his family and traveled the country seeking wisdom. He studied the Hindu scriptures under Brahmin priests, but became disillusioned with the teachings of Hinduism. He then devoted himself to a life of extreme asceticism in the jungle. Legend has it that he eventually learned to exist on one grain of rice a day which reduced his body to a skeleton. He soon concluded, however, that asceticism did not lead to peace and self realization but merely weakened the mind and body.Gautama eventually turned to a life of meditation. While deep in meditation under a fig tree known as the Bohdi tree (meaning, "tree of wisdom"), Gautama experienced the highest degree of God-consciousness called Nirvana. Gautama then became known as Buddha, the "enlightened one." He believed he had found the answers to the questions of pain and suffering. His message now needed to be proclaimed to the whole world. Right Mindfulness It is the mental ability to see things as they are, with clear consciousness. Right Livelihood one should earn one's living in a righteous way and that wealth should be gained legally and peacefully. Right Effort Without effort, which is in itself an act of will, nothing can be achieved, whereas misguided effort distracts the mind from its task, and confusion will be the consequence. Right View To see and understand things as they really are The Third Noble Truth 3. The cessation of suffering is attainable.
The cessation of suffering can be attained through nirodha. Nirodha means the unmaking of sensual craving and conceptual attachment. The Second Noble Truth The first noble truth 1. Life means suffering.
To live means to suffer, because the human nature is not perfect and neither is the world we live in. The Four Noble Truths Right Intention Right Speech Right Action Right Concentration volitional aspect, i.e. the kind of mental energy that controls our actions. is not self-sufficient, however, essential, because mental purification can only be achieved through the cultivation of ethical conduct. involves the body as natural means of expression, as it refers to deeds that involve bodily actions. one-pointedness of mind, meaning a state where all mental faculties are unified and directed onto one particular object. http://www.thebigview.com/buddhism/eightfoldpath.html 1. Do not kill One must not deliberately kill any living creatures, either by committing the act oneself, instructing others to kill, or approving of or participating in act of killing. It is a respect to others' lives. 3. Do not Indulge in Sexual Misconduct Though the moral standards are different in different countries and in different times, rape, adultery and other abnormal sexual behaviour that involve physical and mental injury to others should be prohibited. 2. The origin of suffering is attachment.
The origin of suffering is attachment to transient things and the ignorance thereof. The Fourth Noble Truth 4. The path to the cessation of suffering.
There is a path to the end of suffering - a gradual path of self-improvement, which is described more detailed in the Eightfold Path. It is the middle way between the two extremes of excessive self-indulgence (hedonism) and excessive self-mortification (asceticism); and it leads to the end of the cycle of rebirth. http://www.thebigview.com/buddhism/fourtruths.html He's attached to his blanket. http://web.singnet.com.sg/~alankhoo/Precepts.htm 5. Do not take intoxicants Taking intoxicant will descend and lose the seed of wisdom. Intoxicants, such as drugs, liquor, smoking, etc., are harmful to health. It seems that taking intoxicant is not hurting others.
Full transcript