Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Political Life in Great Britain 0.9

An overview about the politcal structures in Great Britain

Julian Seiler

on 15 November 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Political Life in Great Britain 0.9

Political Life in Great Britain
The Monarchy
It is the constitutional monarchy of the UK and its oversea territories
territories: Parts, which have not aquired independence, which voted to become a territory
head of state: Queen Elizabeth II
Parliament of the United Kingdom
is the supreme legislative body
consists of 2 chambers
The House of Commons
The House of Lords
both are seated in the Westminster Palace in London
Its head is the crown, but has only strongly restricted power
Parliament is dissolved at least every 5 years
was found in 1997 by voting
means the transfer of power
puts power closer to the three other
nations of the UK
decision-making is better to recognize
Landscape of political parties
3 big parties who dominate the UKs Politics
the Conservative Party
Labour Party
Liberal Democrats
advantaged by majority voting system
de facto two party system
The electoral system
Cool Britannia
The Monarchy
The Parliament
Landscape of political parties
The electoral system
Cool Britannia in the 2000s
UK has Parliamentary sovereignty
That means...
... the parliament is ultimate power over all other political bodies in the UK
... there is no sovereignty of the people like in Germany
... there is no written constitution restricting power of the state
...constitutional law is part of the common law
The House of Lords
is the upper house of the parliament
new members are appointed
consists of 26 Lords Spiritual and 752 Lords Temporal
Lords Temporal
Lords Spiritual
26 clerical Lords
5 most important bishops of the Anglican Church
21 longest serving bishops
own their seat as long as they hold their ministry
are the secular Lords
are mostly part of the peerage
own a seat of lifetime
are appointed by the monarch on advice of the prime minister
check the actions of the government
provide Expertise
2003 lost its stand-alone legislative power due to reforms
can only delay most laws
The House of Commons
is the lower house of the parliament
consists of 650 elected members
ever member represents one constituency
own their seat until Parliament is dissolved
owns almost full legislative power due to the Parliament Act
certain law-types can be submitted to the monarch without agreement of the House of Lords
is the more powerful chamber
Labour Party
Conservative Party
Liberal Democrats
was once a left-wing party with social democratic ideas
supported trade unions
formed a social state during the 50s
Changed by "New Labour"
pragmatic politic, endorsing the market economy
saving wealth by growth
current leader: Gordon Brown
also known as "Tories"
during the 19th Century main defenders of imperialism
EU skeptical attitude
overaging members
currently forming the government with Liberal Democrats
current leader: David Cameron
against immigration
liberal Party
formed by fusion of Liberal Party and Social Democratic Party
strengthening civil rights
improving public service
Pro EU
Leader: Nick Clegg
currently part of the government
general elections elect the members of the House of Commons
there are 650 constituencies each represented by one member
first-past-the-post-system -> majority voting system
the party who achieves absolute majority forms the government
English monarchs (1400-1603)
contests for the crown -> 100 year war
tudors arrived
line was ended with the Virgin queens death (1603)
Scottish monarchs:
king James VI got the English crown
English & Scottish crown were united

UK monarchs (1603-present)
good relationship between Scotland & England
17th century the monarchs lost power
The House of Windsor (1952)
the Royal family
Elizabeth II became queen of England
Queen Elizabeth
born in 1926
became queen at the age of 25
She is the youngest heir apparent ever
is reigning through more than five decades
the succession to the throne
rules are listed in the Bill of Rights
will be managed in the order of the sons birth
the king's own descendants are the next
there are also other groups of people, who
are suspended of becoming king/queen
That means...

... the power is fragmented into nations
(Scotland, Wales, North Ireland)
... every nation has got power which have
been devolved
... there are also non-devolved powers, which
are under control of the UK government
name was used for an ice-cream
period of increased pride in the UK
inspired by pop culture
positive changes made people feel optimism
was mostly shown in fashion
Thank you for your attention
Full transcript