Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Broadcasting History

No description

lina latif

on 5 September 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Broadcasting History

Broadcasting History TV3 received its licensed in 1983. Fleet Group which was UMNO’s holding company held 40% TV3 in turn owned MEGA-TV (now a defunct sister company) In 1994 a television broadcast license was issued to Melewar Corporation and Utusan Melayu (M) Berhad to operate Metrovision. By 1999 Metrovision was struggling and was “temporarily” off-air by 1 November the same year. In 2002, the Ministry of Finance owned 30% of the consortium that operated Mega TV. A subsidiary firm, Sri Utara, of the investment arm of the Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC) owned 5% of Mega TV They resumed broadcasting on Thursday 1 January 2004 as 8TV after being bought by Media Prima Berhad. Later, the then Daim-controlled New Straits Times group, previously held Fleet and later the Renong group, took control of the lucrative TV3 from the other main minority shareholders before a management buy-out through the Malaysian Resources Corporation Berhad (MRCB) in early 1993. TV3 and the NST group was firmly in the camp of Finance Minister Anwar Ibrahim, which he become UMNO Deputy President and Deputy Prime Minister. Media Prima Berhad, a company listed on the Main Board of Bursa Malaysia, is Malaysia’s leading integrated media investment group. It currently owns 100% equity interest in TV3, 8TV, NTV7 and TV9. Media Prima now owns more than 96.85% equity interest in The New Straits Times Press (M) (NSTP) Berhad, one of Malaysia’s largest publisher which publishes three national newspapers; the New Straits Times, Berita Harian and Harian Metro. It also owns three radio networks, Fly FM, Hot FM and One FM. Radio Television Malaysia or better known as RTM is a government owned television network. It broadcasts from its headquarters in Angkasapuri, Kuala Lumpur. RTM owns and operates a number of radio and television stations. At present, it runs 6 national, 2 international, 17 state, 11 district radio stations and 2 television channels – TV 1 and TV 2. When it started transmission on 1st April 1946, RTM was established as Radio Malaya operating out of Singapore. On 31st August 1957 when Malaya received its independence, Radio Malaya was split into two with the original studios in Singapore taken over by a new station called Radio Singapura while Radio Malaya moved to Kuala Lumpur going on air from the new location on 1st January 1959. Radio Malaya was later named Radio Malaysia on 16th September 1963 with its signature transmission trademark words 'Inilah Radio Malaysia'. Services rendered under Malaysia Television (Malaysia TV) started on 28th December 1963 in the Klang Valley and Selangor. The 10 month old Television Singapura which was launched on 16th February 1963 became part of Malaysia Televisyen till 1965 when Singapore broke away from Malaysia. Radio Malaysia later became Rangkaian National (National Channel) on 1st January 1971 and became the nation’s first 24 hour radio station. In 1978 Rangkaian Satu (Network One) was renamed Malaysia Television Satu. A year later Rangkaian Dua was renamed Malaysia Television Dua. New separate logos for both networks were launched the same year. The following year, Malaysian Televisyen and Radio Malaysia merged to become Radio Television Malaysia, RTM. As of 2007, RTM controlled 17% of television viewing market in the country behind Media Prima with 54% and Astro with 29%. But of late neither RTM or Astro has made the top 20 television programmes. Astro is an acronym for All-Asian Satellite Television and Radio Operator. Astro is the brand name of the Malaysian direct broadcast satellite pay television service. It transmits digital satellite television and radio to households in Malaysia and Brunei. Astro is owned and operated by MEASAT Broadcast Network Systems, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Astro All Asia Networks. This company was de-listed from the Main Market of Bursa Malaysia Securities Berhad on 14 June 2010, following a successful take-over offer by Astro Holdings Sdn Bhd, a company owned by Tegas Sdn Bhd and its affiliates and Khazanah Nasional Berhad. Tycoon Tan Sri Ananda Krishnan, was issued a license in 1995 to operate MEASAT. MEASAT in turn launched ASTRO, Malaysia’s digital direct broadcast satellite service. Krishnan is a long-time member of the board of the Bank Negara and operates Malaysia’s “Sports Toto”. Five of the seven stations are owned by Airtime Management and Programming Sdn. Bhd. (AMP). Ananda Krishnan also has control over the telecommunication company Binariang Bhd. that owns two satellites Measat-1, Measat-2 and now Maxis Communications Berhad(S). AMP additionally operates four “FM” services that are available only via digital direct broadcast satellite (ASTRO). After the launch of the MEASAT-1 satellite as part of Malaysia’s commercialization of space, Astro commenced broadcasting in 1996 with an initial bouquet of twenty-two television and eight radio channels, which were its own channels. AMP is also a division of Krishnan’s ASTRO. linalatif1@gmail.com thank you for your attention!
Full transcript