Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Erikson's Theory of Social Development

No description

Sophia Del Valle

on 14 November 2016

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Erikson's Theory of Social Development

Erikson's Theory of Social Development
Stage 1-
Trust and Mistrust
Occurs from birth to one year
Development of trust between child and care giver
Erikson studied Social Development
Specifically, development of self-concept and relationships

8 Psychosocial Crises of Development
Psychosocial Crises:
turning points in a person’s relationships and feelings about himself or herself
Stage 2- Autonomy and Shame
Age: (1-3) toddler
Development of control over bodily functions and activities

8 stages:
1. Trust and Mistrust
2. Autonomy and Shame
3. Initiative and Guilt
4. Industry and Inferiority
5. Identity and Role Confusion
6. Intimacy and Isolation
7. Generativity and Stagnation
8. Integrity and Despair
Stage 3 Locomotor
Stage 4- Industry and inferiority (6-12yrs old)
Stage 5- Identity and Role
Stage 6- Intimacy and Isolation
Stage 7- Generativity and Stagnation

Stage 8- Integrity and Despair
Am I being Taken Care of?
Attempts at independence:
Occurs from ages 12-19
Development of identity and acknowledgment of identity by others
Fear of talents/ habits being "undesirable" to peers
"Who is the 'me' embedded in this profile of qualities?
ideal independence:
A Teacher's Role:
Offer Students Diverse Role Models
Refer Students to Counselors/ Other Services
Tolerate Changes in Students' Goals
Ineffective Methodology:
Negative Criticism
Occurs at age 50+
Acceptance of personal life history and forgiveness of self and others
Typically felt during final years of life
Reflection on Past
"Was it a life well-lived?"
Effective Methodology
Child must actively pursue autonomy

Caregiver must actively encourage autonomy even in failure
Erik Erikson
Occurs from ages 19-25+
Formation of intimate relationships and commitments
Risk of establishing close relationships with a select number of others
Without these relationships, individuals are at risk of feeling isolated
Occurs at ages 25-50+
Characteristic of most of Adulthood
Caring for or making a contribution to society
Making life matter to others - Raising Children
In this stage the child begins to worry about being worthy in the eyes of others.

To achieve their esteem, he or she must develop skills that require effort that is sustained and somewhat focused (49).

For a child that strives to be accepted by there peers they might try pick up certain skills such as being friendly to gain acceptance.
For Example:
Teachers must set realist goals that the student can achieve. It is also important not to focus so much on perfection.
Early Childhood: Age 2-6
Conflict: Initiative vs. Guilt
Important Event: Independence
Children must be allowed to do certain things on their own. It is also important that children learn that some things are not allowed but this should be taught in such a way that does not make the child feel guilty.
Full transcript