Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development

No description

Sydney Laicha

on 12 November 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development

Intimacy vs. Isolation
Duration: Young Adult (18-40 years)
-Explore relationships leading toward longer term commitments with someone other than a family member
-Comfortable relationships and sense of commitment
-Success in this stage leads to the virtue of
Generativity vs. Stagnation
Duration: Adulthood (40-65 years)
-Establish careers, settle down within a relationship, begin families, and develop a sense of being a part of the "bigger picture."
-Success in this stage leads to the virtue of
Integrity vs. Despair
Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt
Duration: Early Childhood (1 1/2-3)
-The child discovers that he or she has many skills and abilities
-The child grows a sense of independence and autonomy
-Parents should allow children to explore the limits of their abilities with an encouraging environment
-Encourage/support = autonomy
-Criticized/controlled = Shame
-Success in this stage will lead to the virtue of

Industry vs. Inferiority
Duration: School Age (5-12 years)
-Child's peer group will gain greater significance and will become a major source of the child's self esteem
-Child now feels the need to win the approval by demonstrating specific competencies valued by society
-Begin to develop confidence in their ability to achieve goals
-If restricted; begins to inferior
- Success in this stage leads to the virtue of
Trust vs. Distrust
Duration: Infancy-1 1/2
-The infant is uncertain of the world in which they live in, and they look to their primary caregiver for stability and consistency of care
-If the infant receives constant care, they will develop trust; if the child receives harsh or inconsistent care, they will develop mistrust
-Success in this stage will lead to the virtue of

Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development
Initiative vs. Guilt
Duration: Play Age (3-5)
-The child starts to regularly interact with others
-The center of this stage is play, so the child can explore their interpersonal skills
-Children develop a sense of initiative and feel secure to lead and make decisions
-If the child is criticized or controlled they will develop a sense of guilt
-Success in this stage leads to
Identity vs. Role Diffusion
Duration; Adolescence (12-18 years)
- Child has to learn the roles he will occupy as an adult
-Adolescent will re-examine his identity and try to find out who he/she is
-Explore possibilities and begin to form their own identities based upon outcome
-Success in this stage leads to the virtue of

Duration: Ages 65 and over
-People tend to slow down productivity, and explored life as a retired person
-They tend to contemplate accomplishments and are able to develop integrity
-If we see our lives as unproductive, and feel guilt about our past we become dissatisfied and develop despair
-Success in this stage leads to
Role Diffusion
Shame and Doubt
Full transcript