Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


UK Legal System

No description

Marisa Aguirre

on 26 May 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of UK Legal System

Constitutional Monarchy
UK Legal System
Head of State Monarch (Politically neutral)
Thanks for your attention!!
Duties, functions and powers
are conscribed by convention
Common Law System
Laws are established by the passing of Legislation by
The creation of precedents through Case Law
The Monarch
House of Commons
House of Lords
The Court System and Case Law are controlled by the
, which is separate to Parliament
Three Legal Systems
English Law
Legal System of England and Wales
Northern Ireland Law
Legal System of Statute and Common Law
Scots Law
Mixed Legal system: Civil Law and Common Law elements
Made by judges sitting in courts applying legal precedents
The current statute comprises the Acts of the Parliament of the UK and Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly.
Recognizes four sources: legislation, legal precedent, especific academic writings and custom.
Legislation may be passed by the Scottish Parliament, the UK Parliament, the European Parliament and the Council of the EU.
The vast majority of the criminal cases are heard. These courts also deal with a wide range of civil cases including:

Hearing cases of people that have not paid their council tax bills
Granting betting, gambling and alcohol licenses
Hearing cases that deal with families and children
General family law matters, etc.

Cases are heard by a judge and a 12-person jury. There are currently 77 Crown Courts across England and Wales. Crown Courts deal with serious crimes including:
Murder, etc.

Hears appeals from decisions on: immigration, social security, child support, pensions, tax and lands.

216 County Courts in the country, generally they deal with:
Personal Injury
Breach of contract regarding goods and property
Divorce and other family issues
The repossession of houses
Claims for debts, etc.

Varied work, consisting of the administrative law jurisdiction of England and Wales as well as a supervisory jurisdiction over inferior courts and tribunals.
Appeals from the Magistrate's Courts.
Appeals from the County Courts on bankruptcy and land.

Areas of work that it deals with:
business and property related disputes
general Chancery Claims
patents claims
intellectual Property claims
companies claims
insolvency claims
trust claims, etc

It consists mainly of claims for damages in respect of:
personal injury
breach of contract,
libel and slander (defamation)
non-payment of a debt, and
possession of land or property.

It has the jurisdiction to deal with all matrimonial matters:
The Children Act 1989
The Child Abduction and Custody Act 1985
Matters relating to Part IV Family Law Act 1996 (Family Homes & Domestic Violence),
Wardship and adoption applications,
Declarations in medical treatment cases,
Final Dissolution matters (Civil Partnerships)

Hears appeals in criminal matters from the Crown Court.
The bench usually consists of a Lord or Lady Justice and usually two High Court judges.

Hears appeals from all Divisions of the High Court and, in some instances from the County Courts and certain tribunals.

Bringing an appeal is subject to obtaining ‘permission’, which may be granted by the court below or, more usually, by the Court of Appeal itself. It also deals with family cases.

It replaced the Appellate Committee of the House of Lords (the Law Lords) as the highest court in the United Kingdom.

The Supreme Court’s 12 Justices, are now – for the first time – officially separate from both Government and Parliament.

The cases that this court will hear include appeal cases that have not been successful in other courts, on points of law of the greatest public importance. As such the Supreme Court is the last court of appeal in the UK, including England, Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland.

Aguirre Montaña, Marisa A.
Femenía, Erica
Fernández, Jimena
Olivera, Gemma
Full transcript