Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


James W. Fowler's stages of faith development theory

No description

kelsie van asten

on 1 November 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of James W. Fowler's stages of faith development theory

photo credit Nasa / Goddard Space Flight Center / Reto Stöckli James W. Fowler's Stages of Faith Development Theory Stage 1: Intuitive-Projective Faith -typically ages 2-7
-stage in which fantasy and reality often get mixed together
-the child's imagination is formed in this stage
-adults preaching about negative aspects of religion can cause great harm to the child Stage 2: Mythic, Literal Stage -child starts to sort out the real from the make-believe.
-beliefs, moral rules, and attitudes are held literally. Thus, Heaven and Hell are viewed as actual places.
-begins to reflect on the real meanings. Stage 3: Synthetic, Conventional -a person will move into this stage around puberty.
-"Conventional" means that most people in this stage see themselves as believing what "everybody else" believes.
-Feel the need to be connected with the group. Stage 4: Individual-Reflective Faith -early to mid-twenties
-if this stage happens in the thirties or forties, it will be harder for the person to adapt.
-start to see outside the box and realize there are other perspectives.
-become disillusioned with their former faith. -(mid-life crisis)
-the point when people begin to realize the limits of logic and start to accept the paradoxes in life.
-begin to see life as a mystery.
-they still rely on their own views but become more open-minded to others' views. Stage 6:
Universalizing Faith Stage 5: Conjunctive Faith -this stage is reached only by few people (Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Mother Teresa)
-are able to sacrifice their own well-being to that of their cause. (not like going to war)
-these people risk their own safety in order to help the helpless in unexpected ways. Deana Kortz Brett Pullen Kelsie VanAsten THE END
Full transcript