Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


South Africa

No description

Daniel Zinn

on 7 March 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of South Africa

a generally temperate climate
the climate is subtropical
winters are between June and August
oceanic influence, a great
variety of climatic zones exist
the coldest place in South Africa is Sutherland
the hottest temperatures are 51.7 °C in the Northern Cape Kalahari

1: Southafrica is a ... Land?
a) cultural
b) multicultural

officially the Republic of South Africa
capital: Pretoria
located at the southern tip of Africa
2,800 kilometres coastline
the neighbouring countries are Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Swaziland
within lies Lesotho
52 million population
25-th largest country
Google Bilder
General facts
big cities
South Africa has eleven official languages
In South Africa dominates the Christs
10% are non-denominational
15% belongs to another religion
5% of the population have devoted the Hinduismus, Judaism and Islam
South Africa is a multicultural Land
A South African woman has an average 2,2 kids.
The current life expectancy is women and men equally in 49,4 years
9% are whites
some millions live illegally in South Africa
about 79% of the complete population are blacks
South African constitution divided the population into four large classes
White South Africans often speak other European languages
1,5% of the population don't speak any official language
The country also has many unofficial languages
The three most spoken languages are Zulu, Xhosa and Afrikaan
In the North, it is surrounded by the States of Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland and Mozambique to South Africa.
The landscape of South Africa is very different
The Drakensberge run through the country of the northeast to southeast
The Kalahari desert extends in the north
The Atlantic and Indian Ocean meet at the cape Agulhas
Kalahari desert
Kruger National Park
the tourism has developed into an important economy factor
important sights are:
in 2002 more than six million tourists went to the country
- Drakensberge, with the highest mountain in South Africa
- Kruger-Nationalpark
- Namaqualand
- Sun City
- Wild Coast
- Cape Town, with the Tafelberg and the wonderful beachs
4.4 millions of population
the largest town in southern Africa
but the capital of South Africa is Pretoria
The Kalahari desert extends in the northwest.
The Drakensberge are located in the southeast of the country
About two-thirds of the country are occupied by a central plateau
In the South and East, South Africa is surrounded by the Indian and in the West by the Atlantic Ocean
Bartolomeo Diaz discovered South Africa 1488
they started with the systematic conquest of Bantu
the younger history is characterized by the European colonial gentlemen
at first Netherlanders and brits found only bases at the coasts
they take little consideration for the native tribes living there
in 1994 Nelson Mandela becomes president
is the second largest town of South Africa
she forms headquarters of the parliament
3,7 million people live there
Cape Town got the name to the cape of the good hope

Cape Town
Cape Town
a city at the Indian Ocean
Durban has an important port
it is the biggest of Africa
many tourists came to visit Durban
Durban is the third largest town of South Africa
over 3,4 millions of population
the Dutch Reformed Church is the tallest denomination
1% of the area of South Africa's are forests.
half of all kinds are on the western region
10% of all plants in the world
more than 20,000 plant species
Science and Technology
Several important scientific and technological developments have originated in South Africa


3 tier system of education
most popular sports: soccer, rugby, cricket, swimming and athletics
three types of universities
from grade 1 to 12 Public
twelve years of formal schooling
hope for a better life
the soccer World Cup in 2010
Oscar Pistorius take a part in the Olympic Games Beijing and London despite his hindrance
famoust sport stars: Steven Pienaar and Oscar Pistorius
HIV is a terrible Virus

HIV is still a big problem
HIV was long denied by prior president
only 0.3% of the whites
13.6% of the blacks are HIV-positive
5.6 million people who living with HIV in South Africa
greatest game reserve in South Africa
lies in the north of the country
extends over 20,000 square kilometers
more than 800 different types of animals
founded by Paul Kruger in 1898
in 1926 the area got the status national park
The Constitution is the supreme rule of law in the country
Starting in 1910 with unification, South Africa had its own parliament which passed laws specific for South Africa
The primary sources are Roman-Dutch mercantile law and personal law

The South African National Defence Force (SANDF) was created in 1994
South Africa is the only African country to have successfully developed nuclear weapons
The SANDF is subdivided into four branches
South Africas defens force consisted of voluntary
2: Bartolomeo Diaz discovered South Africa in …?
a) 1488
b) 957
c) 2005

6: Who is a famous South African athlete?
a) Steven Pienaar
b) Samuel Eto'o
c) Fernando Torres
d) Zlatan Ibrahimovicć
4: The record hottest temperature was …?
a) 51,7 °C
b) 49,9 °C
c) 52,4 °C
5: At which town does the Tafelberg lie?
a) Durban
b) Pretoria
c) Cape Town
d) Port Elizabeth
3: Who did founded the Kruger National park?
a) Steven Krueger
b) Paul Kruger
c) Omin Kruger
d) Dieter Bohlen

8. Mention two neighboring countries of South Africa!
7: At which ocean is Durban located?
a) Indian ocean
b) Pacific ocean
c) Atlantic ocean

Each of the nine provinces is governed by a unicameral legislature
8 metropolitan and 44 district municipalities
The provinces are in turn divided into 52 districts:
The legislature elects a Premier as head of government, and the Premier appoints an Executive Council
South Africa has the largest optical telescope in the southern hemisphere
South Africa has cultivated a burgeoning astronomy community
A big area of the black population growing steadily in South Africa lives in a bitter poverty
Many lives without sanitary enclosures, current and water
The situation is particularly difficult in the homelands, primarily the Eastern cape and KwaZulu-Natal
Numerous mammals are found in the bushveld
(including lions, leopards, white rhinos...)

A significant extent of the bushveld exists in the north-east
South Africa is home to many animal species, including the Bushman rabbit threatened by extinction and many more
Coat of arms
Protea plant
Full transcript