Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


7 Dimensions of Hinduism

No description

Christina Araviakis

on 20 September 2010

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of 7 Dimensions of Hinduism

Hinduism Practical/ Ritual
Experimental/ Emotional Narrative/ Mythic Doctrinal/ Philosophical
Ethical/ Legal Social/ Institutional Material Cremation Meditation, Chanting
Singing Hymns,
Reciting Scriptures,
and yoga Purification with
water Upanayanam: sacred
thread ceremony
Sraddha: feasts for the deceased moksha: liberation
from samsara samadhi Suffering with reincarnation 4 levels of yoga
Sruti main form of yoga.
Achieved when one has pure
love of God. Bhagavad Gita Smirti earliest form of Hindu records Sruti means "revealed" Four Vedas: eternal
truths revealed to
ancient sages

Upanishads Smirti means "remembered" most notable
of smirtis is
the epics

Rumayana the most popular text of
hinduism teachings of
Krishna Universal Family Samsara Reincarnation Henotheistic Atman everyone in the world is a part
of the same family the goal of life is to break samsara,
the unyielding life cycle of life, death, and
reincarnation After death, the human soul is reincarnated, or
reborn, into another body and life. Hindus hope
to break this cycle through self realization. God is complex Hindus believe in one god
but accept the belief
of others Atman means soul human spirit
is eternal Dharma Artha Kama Moska Dharma means righteousness means livelihood means sensual pleasure means freedom from samsara Kumbh Mela Temples and Shrines the pitcher
festival mother goddess worship once every four years going to
is not
Shrines are made to represent the different forms of god worship through icons Diyas Ganges River Temples Clay Figures Sacred Cows statues of Shiva Visarjan (elephant) River: http://shipbright.files.wordpress.com/2010/02/praying-in-the-ganges.jpg

Temple: http://www.bbc.co.uk/religion/galleries/hindutemple/images/02.jpg

Cow: http://www.hinduyuva.org/tattva-blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/cow.gif

clay hindu figure: http://ethnology.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/e_1954_9_36.jpg

Shiva: http://www.traveldealsfinder.com/wp-content/uploads/Shiva-Statue-Bangalore.jpg

Elephant: http://cdn.wn.com/pd/99/51/47651bb1c1e780c4a7947402ad8a_grande.jpg
Full transcript