Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Mandatory 2014-15 Child Sexual Abuse Training

No description

Shelly Butler

on 28 August 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Mandatory 2014-15 Child Sexual Abuse Training

Mandatory 2014-15 Child Sexual Abuse Training
For Faculty Members
You have the right and responsibility to report suspected abuse or neglect.

Your report is confidential and immune from civil or criminal liability as long as the report is made in "good faith" and "without malice".

You may not delegate the duty to report to any other person

You are to make the report yourself. You do not have to report the suspected abuse to a peer, a supervisor or colleague
For Admin and Staff
You have the same rights and responsibilities as faculty members.

Ensure all personnel are trained annually

If a child is in immediate danger, call 911.

Statewide Intake 24/7
Know the law.
Texas Family Code 261.101(b)
School professionals have the responsibility to report abuse. DFPS and CPS investigate allegations.
You must report abuse.
Texas Family Code 261.109
Please complete
trainings and submit your certificates to Mrs. Chambers by Friday 9/26/14.
In accordance with TEC 38.0041
districts and charter schools are required to provide to ALL district employees training concerning prevention techniques for and recognition of sexual abuse and all other maltreatment of children
Complete training by 9/26/14
Sexual Abuse Prevention Training
Darkness to Light (D2L) provides online training. You must complete this training.

(2 hour training)


Print your certificate and turn it in to Mrs. Chambers when you have completed this training.
Recognition of Maltreatment of Children and Child Abuse Reporting

(1 hour training)

You must complete this training too.

Print your certificate and turn it in to Mrs. Chambers when you have completed this training.
How to respond if a child reveals abuse or neglect?
-Remain calm
-Always believe the child, but do not make promises.
-Assure the child that he/she did the right thing
-Let the child tell you the experience, leave questioning to the professionals
-Make notes about the conversation after you leave the child.
-To learn more about symptoms of abuse: www.onewithcourage.org or www.cactx.org
Posters Around the School?
All campuses are required to post, at student eye level, in both English and Spanish, information that includes the Texas DFPS Abuse Hotline telephone number, instructions to call 911 and directions to www.txabusehotline.org .
Two online trainings are required.
Full transcript