Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM

Copy

Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.

DeleteCancel

Make your likes visible on Facebook?

Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.

No, thanks

Artist Management

No description
by

on 10 November 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Artist Management

Artist Management
AM skills and personal traits
• Understanding human nature. What the other person’s wants? How does the manager make the other person’s business better?
• Leadership. Change = resistance before acceptance. Keeping spirits up.
• Coaching: Artist Performance, Interviews, People Skills, Money Management. Professionalism (when not to party: good managers lead by example).
• Networking. You can never have too many contacts.
• Sociable. Great people skills. Firm but fair. Diplomatic. Cool under pressure.
• Communication Skills - knowing when to call, text, email, tweet fax, social networks. Patient when doing deals.
• Reliability and solid reputation of dependability.
• Other skills.....creativity, hard worker, imaginative, persistence, business knowledge, keeping up with trends and technology, spotting opportunities.
What to see in a Manager
Functions of a Manager
• PLANNING: Good planning can be the difference between success and failure. Luck will get you so far but a well-designed plan can put the manager in a position to take advantage of opportunities when they present themselves.
• ORGANISING: Assembling the necessary resources to carry out the plan and put those resources in a logical order. Defining the responsibilities of the artist’s team and managing everyone’s time efficiently - especially the artist’s.
• LEADING AND DIRECTING: Ensuring the talent and energy of the team are directed toward the career success of the artist.
• CONTROLLING: When the resources have all been assembled (time, people, equipment, financing) and the plan is in action the manager controls and monitors how effective the plan is and makes any necessary changes to use the resources more efficiently to advance the plan further.
Role of an Artist Manager
The personal manager is the alter-ego of the artist. The part ofthe artist the audience never sees.
-Xvaier M. Franscogna- The Business of Artist Management.
The manager is a planner, adviser, organiser, strategist, coordinator, detail person, travelling companion, friend (psychologist, reality checker, hangover curer, problem solver!!!!)
In short, the manager is the only other individual, besides the artist, who gets to see and touch all the jigsaw puzzle pieces that fit together to create the artist’s career.
When and how- Getting two together
Labels and A&R prefer to negotiate with manager rather than artist.
Manager finds artist:- comes to gig or speaks to friend bands.
Artist finds Manager:- make profile of band( shows, fans, PR, hits, pics) make list of pontential candidates and approach them personally
• How experienced are they? How long they been in the industry? International?
• How successful have they been? In a similar field?
• How long have they worked in the business? In what capacity?
• Does the manager have a good reputation? Reputed strengths?
• Is he/she primarily a creative or business manager?
• How long has he/she managed any other artists on the roster? (Artist could try and talk to those artists)
• Do you like the managers personality? (Aggressive / Diplomatic)
• Where is the managers based? What back-up, facilities are available (studio, accounts, legals, producers, songwriters, artist roster)
• How much time will the manager spend on you?
• How convinced is the manager of your talent?
• How extensive are the managers contacts?
• Does the manager have good negotiation skills?
• Will he/ she or the staff be able to deal with details efficiently? i.e. returning phone calls, proper accounts, daily legals, dealing with correspondence, schedules)
• If the artist has a publishing / recording contract do the manager have a history of dealing with the companies concerned, if so what do the key personnel at those companies feel the manager?
Words a far more common and much less effective than action.
You can never know enough people in the business - unless they don’t like you and then 1 person is too many.
There is no substitute for hard work, creatively, imagination and persistence.
Manager Eats 15-20 % of Artists gross income,
Jon Turner, General Manager – jon.turner@umusic.com
Ian Mack, Manager – ianmack@rightbankmusicuk.com
Lee Jenson, Head of Marketing – lee.jenson@umusic.com
Chris Scott, Product Manager – chris.scott@umusic.com
Glenn Cooper, Head of Digital – Glenn.cooper@umusic.com
Justin Cross, Digital Executive – Justin.cross@umusic.com
Neil Jennings, Head of Mobile – neil.jennings@umusic.com
Angus Blair, A & R Manager – angus.blair@umusic.com
Ruth Parrish, Promotions Director – ruth.parrish@umusic.com
Phil Witts, Head of Regional Radio – phil.witts@umusic.com
Charity Baker, Regional Radio – charity.baker@umusic.com
Mark Bowden, Hyperactive Club Promotions – markb@music-house.co.uk Anna Maslowicz, National Press Officer – anna.maslowicz@umusic.com Sarah Hall, Regional Press Officer – sarah.hall@umusic.com
Lisa Paulon,Traffic – On-line viral marketing, facebook, myspace, twitter, bebo Solomon Parker,William Morris – PA Agent
Bob Brimson – Head of Creative Services (Video Product Manager) John Keane – Lucid PR – National Radio and TV Promotion (Radio Playlists) Mike Mooney, Head of TV promotions – mike.mooney@umusic.com
http://www.music-house.co.uk/hyperactive/about_us.html
Island Records label team
Research about:-
Lennon and McCartney, Ike & Tina Turner, Colonel Parker and Elvis, The Bee Gee’s
Tom parker,
Simon Fuller
Full transcript