Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


11yr Kohlberg - Garin College

No description

Kim Pope

on 27 August 2017

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of 11yr Kohlberg - Garin College

Stages of Moral

Although the stages are in order there is no guarantee that a stage must be linked to a certain age. eg a criminal who’s only reason for not committing a crime is fear of punishment.
Some people never progress beyond the early stages and therefore never develop a moral compass.
Some people are practiced in the stages but only in specific circumstances. eg an SS guard who commits mass murder and at the end of the day goes home to his wife and family.
Example: Marina is active in the pro-life movement. She writes letters to MPs petitioning them to continue outlawing capital punishment.
Focus on Principles
Social Contract
right action flows from general principles agreed on in a society and on personal values. I should work to change a law if it will help make society more self-respecting.
Stage 5 - Postconventional
Focus on the group - Most people
Good Boy or Girl
I do something to get the approval and praise of others. I conform to group standards of what is right or wrong.
Example: 15 year-old Peter gets drunk at the party because everyone else is doing it.
Stage 3 - Conventional
Focus on Myself - Most Children
Punishment or Obedience
I Submit to authority figures because of the physical consequences for me if I don’t
Example: Five-year old Bert doesn’t take Lucy’s crayons because the teacher will punish him if he does.
Stage 1 - Preconventional
Lawrence Kohlberg studies moral decision making.
In his view there are 6 stages of moral reasoning.
We move to a higher stage when people who reason at a stage above ours challenge our thinking.
Focus on Principles
Personal Conscience
I make my decisions based on ethical principles that apply to all persons everywhere - justice, equality, the dignity of every human life.
Example: Mother Teresa of Calcutta takes a dying leper into her arms. She says she is ministering to Jesus Christ.
Stage 6 - Postconventional
Focus on the group - Most people
Law and Order
I obey the rules of the system to maintain right order. Right behaviour consists in doing my duty.
Example: Dan obeys the traffic laws for the good of society. He says that if people didn’t obey the laws, there would be chaos on our roads.
Stage 4 - Conventional
Focus on Myself - Most Children
Personal Usefulness
Something is right if I get something out of it.
Example: Ten year old Fiona brings in $5 for charity because her teacher said she wouldn’t have any homework for a week if she did.
Stage 2 - Preconventional
Example: Marina is active in the pro-life movement. She writes letters to MPs petitioning them to continue outlawing capital punishment.
Full transcript