Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Jean Piaget and Erik Erikson

No description

Jessica Muroski

on 25 February 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Jean Piaget and Erik Erikson

8 Psychosocial
Stages of
Jean Piaget
4 Cognitive
Stages of

Stage 1
Sensorimotor: Birth-Age 2
The infant knows the world through their movements and sensations.
Learning occurs through assimilation and accommodation.
Object permanence-things continue to exist even though they cannot be seen

Jean Piaget and Erik Erikson
Stage 2
Pre-Operational: Ages 2-7
Children begin to think symbolically and learn to use words and pictures to represent objects.
Egocentricity -Self centered and only use their point of view
Able to handle simple tasks with ONE focus

Stage 3
Concrete Operational: Ages 7-11
Children begin to thinking logically about experiences.
Begin to understand the concept of conservation.
Thinking becomes more organized.

Stage 4
Formal Operations: Ages 11-16
Begins to think abstractly and reason about hypothetical problems.
Strong sense of right and wrong
Begin to think more about moral, philosophical, ethical, social, and political issues.

1. Infant:
Trust Vs. Mistrust

Birth to 18 Months

Infants develop trust that their wants/ needs will be satisfied

If parents are not attentive to child's wants/needs infant will learn to mistrust
2. Toddler
Autonomy Vs. Shame & Guilt

2-3 Years

Child does not want to be told what to do

Tries to assert him/herself

Develops personal control over physical skills

Shows independence
3. Pre-Schooler:
Initiative Vs. Guilt

3-5 Years
Initiates motor and intellectual activity
Development with a sense of purpose
Begin to show humor and empathy
4. Grade-Schooler:
Industry Vs. Inferiority

6-11 Years

Child enters school and learns to cope with social and academic demands

Works to acquire adult skills and complete tasks
5. Teenager:
Identity Vs. Role Confusion

11-21 Years

Sense of self and personal identity

Preoccupation with appearances

Logical and visual perception merge

Sexual experimentation

Develop own morality and ethics
6. Young Adult:
Intimacy Vs. Isolation

21-40 Years

Also known as early adulthood

Form complex, intimate and loving relationships with others
7. Middle Aged Adult:
Generativity Vs. Stagnation

40-65 Years

Comes to terms with accomplishments--professionally and personally

Create or nurture things that will outlast them

Development of altruism or creativity
8. Older Adult:
Integrity Vs. Despair

Over age 65

Sense of satisfaction with one’s life vs. despair over an inability to achieve your goals

Sense of fulfillment
By: Jessica & Katherine
Full transcript