Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Wings of Fire

Book Talk assignment. :33

Kelly C.

on 29 October 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Wings of Fire

Wings of Fire
Book One: The Dragonet Prophecy
By: Tui T. Sutherland
"The Dragonet Prophecy", the first book out of five in the "Wings of Fire" series, is written by Tui T. Sutherland. Tui T. Sutherland has written many other books, such as the "Avatars" trilogy, and she lives with her husband, son, and dog in Massachusetts. "The Dragonet Prophecy", as well as the other books in the "Wings of Fire" series, takes place in an alternate universe called "Pyrrhia". This world is inhabited by dragons. During the events of this series, there is a war raging on between the tribes of Pyrrhia. The war started because the queen of one of the tribes, Queen Oasis of the SandWings, was killed by a scavenger (a human). Oasis' daughters, Blister, Blaze, and Burn, are fighting over who should take the throne after their mother's death. The dragons in the tribes of Pyrrhia have made alliances with each of the SandWing sisters, fighting for who they want as the next queen of that tribe. However, when the war has been fought for twenty years, a NightWing dragon, that foretold the future, spoke a prophecy to all of the tribes.
Each book in the "Wings of Fire" series is centered around one of five dragonets of the prophecy. These dragons are: Clay of the MudWings, Tsunami of the SeaWings, Glory of the RainWings, Starflight of the NightWings, and Sunny of the SandWings."The Dragonet Prophecy" follows Clay and is in his view from a third-person perspective. The five dragonets are supposed to be protected until they have reached the age of eight years old. This is because some dragons don't believe in the legendary prophecy and want to get rid of the five dragonets. They are taught about the war and are protected by three dragons: Kestrel of the SkyWings, Dune of the SandWings, and Webs of the SeaWings. Clay and his friends, however, want to escape and explore the world that they've been sheltered from. They come up with a plan to try to find their way out of the cavern, and they execute it successfully! However, they're caught by SkyWing forces when they join together again. They have to work together to escape from the Sky Kingdom, and to fulfill their prophecy.

When the war has lasted twenty years...
The dragonets will come.
When the land is soaked in blood and tears...
The dragonets will come.

Find the SeaWing egg of deepest blue.
Wings of night shall come to you.
The largest egg in the mountain high will give to you the wings of sky.
For wings of earth, search through the mud to find an egg the colour of dragon blood.
And hidden alone from the rival queens, the SandWing egg awaits unseen.

Of three queens who blister, blaze, and burn, two shall die and one shall learn if she bows to a fate that is stronger and higher, she'll have the power of wings of fire.

Five eggs to hatch on the brightest night, five dragons born to end the fight.
Darkness will rise to bring the light.
The dragonets are coming...
Overall, I think I would give this book a score of eight or nine out of ten. I really enjoyed it because of the detailed narration and the action-packed part of the story. I also enjoyed the dialogue for each character because what each character says relates to their personality.

One exchange that I especially enjoy, between Tsunami and Glory, is:

""Wouldn't that be great?" Tsunami grinned. "I've always thought I'd be a good queen."
"Boy, I don't know," Glory said. "I mean, if you want to be queen one day, you'll have to be bossy, controlling, full of yourself... oh, wait.""

Glory is portrayed as an easily annoyed and sarcastic character, and her sarcastic comments are some of my favourite lines in the book!

I don't think this book really relates with anything in our world, because it takes place in an alternate universe, but the actions and feelings of the characters are very much like our's.
Thank you for listening and watching! :D

I hope you get a chance to read these books to find out which queens gains the power of Wings of Fire!
Full transcript