Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Classifying Living Things

No description

Ali A.

on 15 October 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Classifying Living Things

-Both are groups of animals -all of them are in the animal kingdom - all need food
Hello classmates and teachers. This is my project on the Classification of living things . Hope you enjoy.

Classifying Living Things
The Five Kingdoms
The Seven Taxa of Linnaeus System of Classification
There are seven taxa in Linnaeus' system of classification they are kingdom. phylum, class, order, family, genes and species. While kingdom is the most general, species is the most specific. Here is a chart of all the taxa in order from most general to most specific.
The Phyla
The phyla or phylum is singular are one of the seven taxa. The phylum can describe distinguishing characteristics about an animal. There are many phyla in this world describing different types of animals. Now I'm going to describe three of them.
By: Ali
Important Fact
The Kingdom
Living things like bacteria belong
in the Monera kingdom.
The Kingdom
Important Facts
Mostly one-celled organisms are in the Protist kingdom along with algae.
Important Facts
All members of the Plantea kingdom can make their own food.
Important Fact
Animalia can include vertebrates and invertebrates.
Important Facts
Organisms like mold, yeasts and mushrooms are in this kingdom
Differences of Vertebrates and Invertebrates
-have a backbone -are divided into five categories: fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals -vertebrates can be both cold-blooded and warm-blooded -live in all environments and biomes -mostly are mammals and reptiles
-are grouped in sponges, worms, molluscs and arthropods -sometimes bugs can help police investigate a crime scene - they are mostly cold-blooded
Common name: water bear
The water bear has four segmented body and a head. The water bear can survive in all types of environments even in space! In cold places water bears cuddle up in a ball so its body can heat up. Water bears mostly live near trees and are microscopic.

Common name: Symbion
Circular mouth surrounded my cilia
Chordata is another phylum with a group of animals named chordates. They have might have features like a notochord, a hollow dorsal nervchord, pharyngeal silts, an endostyle or a post anal tail for a certain time of their life cycles. Some of the chordates are hag fish, frog, snakes, different birds and sea squirts
Unfortunately this is the end of my project. I hope you learned a thing or two about classifying living things. Until next time. Bye!
The five kingdoms are the most general taxa out of the seven. There are five kingdoms where different living things are put in. They are Monera, Plantea, Animalia, Protist and Fungi. Here are some features of the the five kingdoms.
Full transcript