Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Symphony no. 40 in G minor, 1st movement by Mozart

No description

Lucy Griffiths

on 30 July 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Symphony no. 40 in G minor, 1st movement by Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony no. 40 in G minor, 1st movement
This symphony was written in the Classical period, for a Classical Orchestra
The Classical Orchestra
Think about why this might be?
It was bigger than the
Baroque Orchestra
What are the families?
The instruments were
grouped in families
The thick vertical lines down the left hand side of the stave show the different families
The little lines that separate these systems are called "tram lines"
The music shows the performers that are playing at the same time in groups called SYSTEMS
Even though you would expect to see these instruments in a classical orchestra
It is important to note that there are NO TRUMPETS or TIMPANI in this symphony
G Minor, two flats.
Key Signature
Four beats in a bar
Time Signature
Loud and soft
treble clef
bass clef
alto clef (otherwise known as C clef - the indent is where you find middle c)
Musical Elements
*Austrian Composer
*Born in Salzburg in 1756
*Died in 1791 aged 35
*Child Prodigy
*Composed during the CLASSICAL PERIOD (1750-1810)
Features of the Classical Period
question and answer phrases
short well-balanced melodies
diatonic harmony (using notes which belong to the key
homophonic textures (melody plus accompaniment)
counterpoint (two or more melodic lines are combined)
Sonata Form
Usually found in the first movement of a symphony
Was a big thing in the classical period...
Sonata form consists of three main sections, which can then be split up further...
1st subject in home key

2nd subject in related key

and sometimes a codetta...
States parts of the
first and second subjects in a series of unrelated keys...
Can also introduce new
Returns to the home key and restates the
1st and 2nd subjects...
The second subject might also be stated in the home key...
There could also be a
What about
in Mozart?
1st subject in home key of G
2nd subject in the relative major key Bb major:
Mozart has chosen to include
a codetta.
Bars 1-100
Bars 101-163
The development takes ideas
from the first subject, and
states them in a series of unrelated keys. In other words, Mozart is developing his ideas from the exposition...
Bars 164-End
The first subject is restated
in the home key of G minor.
The second subject is also stated
in the home key of G minor.
Mozart has included a coda
which states the first subject
and uses a lot of chords I and V
Time to think...
Which period did Mozart live and write
his music in?
What are the main differences between a classical and baroque orchestra?
What form was this movement written in?
Can you name the sections of sonata form?
What things has Mozart done in this movement that aren't typical of other classical first movements?
The Symphony...
A symphony was an extended
piece of music written for an orchestra.
Symphonies normally consisted of 4 movements:
Mvt 1: Quick, In sonata form
Mvt II: Slow
Mvt III: Minuet
Mvt IV: Very fast!
Symphonies were very popular
with classical composers like Mozart!
Larue J., et al. "Symphony." Grove Music Online. Oxford Music Online. 8 Oct. 2012 <http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/subscriber/article/grove/music/27254>.
Anon., "Mozart Symphony No. 40: Movement I", BBC - GCSE Bitesize: Mozart, BBC, 9 Oct. 2012, <http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/gcsebitesize/music/western_tradition/mozart_symphony3.shtml>
Full transcript