Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Slam Dunk Contest

No description

Cody Paps

on 20 December 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Slam Dunk Contest

Julius Erving
Slam Dunk Contest
Kobe Bryant is the youngest player to win the slam dunk championship at the age of 18, a record he still holds.
The Change
The NBA dunk contest started at the halftime of an All Star game. It started with normal dunks and has now evolved into props and the help of teammates. From Julius Erving from the foul line to little Spud Webb at 5'7 dunking. To Dominique Wilkins with his off the backboard to Micheal Jordan companying JErving. To Shaq breaking down backboards to Vince Carter have an outstanding 2000 performance. To Nate Ronison dunking over Dwight Howard to dunks over cars and paintings even motorcyles.
The NBA dunk Contest
The one thing that I don't like about the NBA dunk contest is that nobody
good signs up for it anymore. Back when it first began the best players and the best dunkers would go out and try to win. Now you have random scrubs going out for it. Like the one who just won Terrence Ross he's not horrible but no where near the best. I really think they need to try and get some great dunkers like Kobe, J.R. Smith or Lebron into this year's dunk contest. Even try to get Howard back. I understand they think that all the dunks that are possible have been done but I don't think thats true.
The Begining of the NBA Slam Dunk
The NBA Slam Dunk Contest started in 1976 at halftime but it actually was the ABA at that point. Until the Merge of the two leagues after the 1976 season. Julius Erving was the winner of the Dunk contest by performing his famous dunk from the foul-line. At this time Julius Erving was on the ABA Nets.

The Slam Dunk Contest
By: Cody Paparelli

Nate Robinson is the only player to win the contest three times.
Vince Carter posted the highest score in any round with 149 in the 2000 first round.
Michael Jordan, Jason Richardson, and Nate Robinson are the only players to win the NBA Slam Dunk Contest back-to-back. Michael Jordan, Kobe Bryant and Brent Barry are the only players to have won an NBA championship and a slam dunk championship.
The very first slam dunk contest was won by Julius Erving of the Nets at the 1976 ABA All-Star Game.
The current champion of the NBA Dunk Contest is Terrence Ross of the Toronto Raptors.
Full transcript