Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The 8 Stages of Genocide: Night by Elie Wiesel

No description

Bailey Wright

on 12 December 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The 8 Stages of Genocide: Night by Elie Wiesel

The 8 Stages of Genocide:
by Elie Wiesel

The 8 Stages of Genocide
Genocide is recognized in 8 stages. 1) Classification 2) Symbolization 3) Dehumanization 4) Organization 5) Polarization 6) Preparation 7) Extermination 8) Denial.
Stage 1: Classification
According to Hitler and his followers, Jews were considered unhuman, and not deserving of natural human rights. "countless Jews had been passing as non-Jews" (114). Jewish people had to pretend to not be Jewish just to do simple day-to-day tasks.
Stage 4: Organization
Everything about the Holocaust was organized. Although, SS Officers often did whatever they pleased. They could kill, rape, eat, steal, whatever they wanted too. Alot of them became drunk off of power. "...and had a glimpse of Idek and a young polish girl, half naked on a straw mat
Stage 3: Dehumanization
"If anyone goes missing, you'll all be shot, like dogs." (24). Throughout the book, many examples are shown that explain how the SS Officers treated the Jews and other prisoners as less than human, or like animals. They are not worthy of human rights.
Stage 2: Symbolization
"Three days later, a new decree: every Jew had to wear the yellow star" (11). To seperate the Jews from the rest of the community, the were forced to wear Jewish stars on all their clothes. This is to set them apart from everyone else.
Stage 5: Polarization
The jews were sent tot live in disease-ridden ghettos. This was the first step to polarization. They were not treated as equals. "Then came the ghettos." (11).
Stage 6: Preperation
To prepare for extermination, Jews were sent to live in ghettos, certain streets or areas set apart from town. By doing this, they were isolating the unideals, to make sure non could escape. "The barbed wire that encircled us... (11).
Stage 7: Extermination
"Children were thrown into flames." (32). All throughout WW2, Hitler and his followers went about killing millions of people. Burning, poisening, starving, assassinating, all types of killing was done. Throughout the book, Elie tells many stories of innocent people being killed for no reason other than being Jewish, or not ideal.
Stage 8: Denial
"Afterword, the would blow up the camp." (114). This is showing denial, becasue they are covering up their tracls. They dont want people to know the horrors behind the iron gates. Did they know it was wrong? Maybe some did. Did they think they were helping the world? Most definitely.
Full transcript