Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Pacific Crest Trail

No description

Sarah H

on 12 September 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Pacific Crest Trail

The Pacific Crest National Scenic Trail
PCT Hikers
Many people have hiked the entire trail, some hiking the entire trail in one year. The hikers that attempt to complete the trail in one year are called thru-hikers.
The Triple-Crown
Pacific Crest Trail - 2,663 miles
The trail was established in 1968 through the National Trails System Act. It was completed in 1993, but not completely finished.
The trail crosses over 57 major mountain passes, goes into 19 major canyons, and passes more than 1,000 lakes.
It also passes through 3 national monuments, 5 state parks, 7 national parks, 24 national forests, and 47 wilderness areas.
The trail generally runs along the high crests of the Sierra and Cascade mountain ranges in California, Oregon and Washington.
Hikers and horseback riders are allowed on the trail. However, bikes are not, since the wheels ruin the path.
They split the trail into 18 sections in California (Sections A-R) and then restart the labeling, combining Oregon and Washington (Sections A-L). Therefore, there are two “Section A's”.
Currently, about 200 people attempt to hike the PCT each season, generally hiking from south to north. They usually start at the Mexican border in April and end at the Canadian border in September.
Very few horseback riders have completed the entire trail.
The Triple-Crown is an award that is received by hiking the 3 major U.S. long-distance hiking trails.
Continental Divide Trail - 3,100 miles
The trail is divided up into 29 sections of manageable length. Generally, sections are bounded by significant road crossings and resupply opportunities. This splits the trail into comfortable 40-150 mile sections.
PCT Sections
Appalachian Trail - 2,184 miles
The trail is 2,663 miles long, and goes through California, Oregon, and Washington from the Mexican border to the Canadian border.
PCT Basics
Full transcript