Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Shallow Fault Earthquake Special

No description

Gabrielle Wong

on 23 February 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Shallow Fault Earthquake Special

Word #3:
Surface/Continental Lithosphere
Word #5:
New Names
Word List:
The shallow fault earthquake can occur at any fault.
Word #4:
1. Info. from other Prezi's
2. Info. from notes
3. http://www.earthquakecountry.info/roots/basics.html
4. http://earthquake.usgs.gov/learn/glossary/?term=stress
Word #2:
In our research, Jennifer and I realized that there are other names to call our earthquake.
1. Shallow Fault Earthquake
2. Shallow Earthquake
3. Shallow Crustal Earthquake
4. Shallow-focus Earthquake, etc.
In order for an earthquake to be classified as shallow, it must originate in Earth's surface or the continental lithosphere, or within 60 km (40 miles) of the Earth's outer surface.
As in every earthquake, eventually enough stress builds up and the rocks slip suddenly, releasing energy in waves that travel through the rock to cause the shaking that we feel during an earthquake.
1. Shallow
2. Stress
3. Types of Stress
4. Surface/Continental Lithosphere
5. Fault
6. New Names
7. Damage
8. Bibliography
Shallow Fault Earthquake Special
Vocabulary Words

Word #1:
Word #3:
Types of Stress
Shallow fault earthquakes cause the most damage out of all of the earthquakes because of how close they are to the surface. Even the slightest shake can destroy a house.
Word #6:
There are 3 levels of earthquakes. 1. Shallow, 2. Intermediate, and 3. Deep. These earthquakes are at the shallow level. Hence "shallow" in shallow fault earthquake. For an earthquake to be considered shallow, it must originate within 60 km (40 miles) of the Earth's outer surface.
Stress is the force per unit area acting on a plane within a body. There are 3 different kinds of earthquake stress; tensional stress, compressional stress, and shear stress.
Full transcript