Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Classifying Polygons

No description

Divi Maheshwari

on 25 March 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Classifying Polygons


Triangles have 3 sides, and there are 3 different types of triangles. Triangles are closed sided figures.
Every triangle has 3 vertices.
Triangles have 3 angles.
Quadrilaterals have 4 sides, 4 angles, and are closed figures.
Quad means 4, and lateral means sides! The sides of quadrilaterals have to straight, and 2D.You can create quadrilaterals by yourself, but it has to have 4 sides!
Hexagons have 6 sides, 6 angles, 6 vertices, and is a closed figure. Hexagons are the honeycomb pattern shapes.
Pentagons have 5 sides, are closed figures, and have angles. Pentagons
have 5 vertices. A pentagon is ussually shaped as a triangle on top, and a square on the bottom, which looks like a house!
Heptagons have 7 sides, and it is not a very common, and heard shape, but it is one of the common polygons. Heptagons have 7 vertices, and 7 angles. A heptagon is a closed figure.
An octagon has 8 sides, vertices, and angles. It is a closed figure. Octa means 8. Octagons have to have straight sides.
Nonagons have 9 angles, 9 sides, and 9 vertices. they are uncommon figures. They are closed figures. Nonagons have equal sides. In real life, nonagons are coasters! Nonagons can be wides, long, average, and short!
Last but not the least, decagons! With 10 sides, angles, and vertices, they are common figure. They are closed figures, no open sides, and are used as coin shapes, and glass rims in real life!
The Rule for Classifying Polygons
The rule we used for classifying the 8 different
types of polygons is the number of sides.
We used this rules because it is the easiest
and it is easy to understand. This rule is used
to identify the different types for very polygon,
for example, if a shape has 3 sides, it is considered a triangle. And so is that for the other polygons. We have arranged the different types of polygons in order of there number of sides.
Right Triangles
Right triangles have right angles, and straight lines. Right triangles usually don't have equal sides, but they can have any length of lines, as long as they are closed, and form a right angle in the triangle!
Equilateral Triangles
Equilateral triangles are triangles with equal sides. They have 3 angles and vertices.
Obtuse Triangles
Obtuse triangles have 3 vertices, 3 angles, and sometimes they have equal sides, and sometimes not. Usually, the angles are one obtuse, and the rest is acute.
Acute Triangles
Acute triangles have 3 vertices, angles, and sides. They don't always have equal sides, but usually, they have 3 acute angles.
Isosceles Triangles
Isosceles triangles have 2 equal sides, and one unequal. Isosceles triangles look tall, and they have 3 angles. They have 3 sides and vertices.
Scalene Triangles
Scalene triangles have no equal sides. They have 3 angles, 3 vertices, and sides. Scalene triangles can have all types angles, since the sides are unequal!
Squares have equal sides. Squares have 4 sides, and 4 right angles. They also have 4 vertices. Squares, not the squares like Times Square, but the shape square.
Rectangles are squares cousins. Rectangles have parallel lines that are the same on each side. Those parallel lines are connected and form a long square, which is typically a rectangle, not exactly a square. The pairs of parallel lines are not equal, but there are 4 angles, sides, and vertices.
Parallelograms are quadrilaterals with two pairs of parallel sides. the opposite or facing sides of a parallelogram are equal and the opposite angles are equal measures.
Rhombuses have equal sides, just like squares, but they are a bit slanted. Rhombuses look like diamonds. It has 4 angles, sides, and vertices.
Trapezoids have 4 sides, angles, and vertices. A trapezoid is a 4-sided flat shape with straight sides that has a pair of opposite sides parallel.
A 4-sided flat shape with straight sides that:
* has two pairs of sides.
* each pair is adjacent sides (they meet) that are equal in length.
Also, the angles are equal where the pairs meet.
Diagonals (dashed lines) meet at a right angle, and one of the diagonal bisects (cuts equally in half) the other.
Ar regular pentagon has 5 sides, vertices, and angles.If all angles are equal and all sides are equal, then it is a regular polygon (otherwise it is "irregular").
Regular Pentagon
Irregular Pentagon
Any pentagon that is not a regular pentagon. A pentagon whose sides are not all the same length or whose interior angles do not all have the same measure.
Convex Pentagon
Convex pentagons are pentagons without dents.
Concave Pentagon
Concave Pentagons are pentagons with dents.
Regular Hexagon
A hexagon with six sides of equal length.
Irregular Hexagon
An irregular hexagon is one whose angles and all sides are not equal, otherwise it would have been a regular hexagon. An irregular hexagon has sides that may be different of lengths. It also follows that the interior angles are not all equal.
Convex Hexagon
A Hexagon without dents. It can be irregular.
Concave Hexagon
A hexagon with dents, but it can be irregular.
Regular Heptagon
A regular heptagon has 7 equal sides and 7 angles of equal measure.
Irregular Heptagon
An irregular heptagon does not have all the angles and sides equal. It is irregular in shape.
Convex Heptagon
A heptagon that does not have dents, and is possible to be irregular.
Concave Heptagon
Heptagons with a dent, and could be irregular.
Regular Octagon
Octagon is a noun referring to a polygon or a two-dimensional figure with eight sides and angles.
Irregular Octagon
An octagon that does not have equal sides and angles. It is not perfectly regular.
Convex Octagon
An octagon without dents in the shape. They can be irregular.
Concave Octagon
An octagon with dents. It most probably is irregular.
Regular Nonagon
A 9-sided polygon (a flat shape with straight sides). (Also called an Enneagon)

Irregular Nonagon
A irregular nonagon is a nonagon without equal sides and angles. It is not regular.
Convex Nonagon
A nonagon without dents, and can be irregular.
Concave Nonagon
A nonagon with dents, and can be irregular.
Regular Decagon
A decagon is any polygon with ten sides and ten angles, and usually refers to a regular decagon, having all sides of equal length.
Irregular Decagon
A decagon without equal sides and angles. It is opposite of regular.
Convex Decagon
A decagon without dents in the shape, and is irregular.
Concave Decagon
A decagon with dents and is irregular.
This was our 'Classifying Polygons' Prezi. Polygons are shapes that exsist in normal day life. There is another for 'Classifying Solid Figures'! Thank you for paying attention.
Full transcript