Prezi

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM

Copy

Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in the manual

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.

DeleteCancel

Make your likes visible on Facebook?

Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.

No, thanks

Hunger Games Readalike

Just finished the Hunger Games trilogy and want to know what to read next?
by Becky Canovan on 30 October 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Hunger Games Readalike

Tamora Pierce Kristin Cashore Female Warrior Companion to Graceling and Bitterblue Set in the same world as Graceling, Fire takes place beyond the mountains in a kingdom filled with monsters who can read and control minds. Meet Fire, the last human monster, a 'woman' known for her kindness, who fears the Monster she may become. In the world of Seven Kingdoms, some people are graced with a particular skill in which they excel. The niece of a King, Katsa finds herself in servitude as the hired muscle as she is the rare female graced in killing. When she meets Po, a prince graced in fighting, Katsa's life takes a turn. With Po's help, she takes things into her own hands, just in time to realize that her talents may come in handy for the good of the rest of the kingdom. Read a sample chapter here: http://www.scribd.com/doc/18299444/Fire-by-Kristin-Cashore Keladry of Mindelan, a girl of 10, decides to take the king up on his offer to allow girls to train for knighthood. She is the first to attempt it even 10 years after the proclamation. Despite being put on probation, she persists in her quest for knighthood. Controlling Government Cory Doctorow Scott Westerfeld Paolo Bacigalupi Patrick Ness James Dashner William Golding Koushun Takami Download and read it for free (legally) here: http://craphound.com/littlebrother/download/ Watch a clip from the World Premiere production of the play based on the book. What are you willing to give up for your freedom, or what have you already unknowingly sacrificed? Who can you trust when it's your government keeping you quiet?

Caught up in the worst terror attack on the country since 9/11, Marcus is taken into custody as a terror suspect. Questioned & tortured, he is later released into a police state the public willingly accepts in exchange for "safety." Marcus aka W1n5t0n, decides to fight back one video game console at a time. Dystopian Futures Play the Lord of the Flies online game here:
http://www.nobelprize.org/educational/literature/golding/ Do you have what it takes to be a Runner? Find out here: http://armorgames.com/play/4706/maze-runner-missions A Chaos Walking short story: http://www.booktrust.org.uk/usr/library/documents/short-stories/the_new_world.pdf Read the first 4 chapters online: http://dft.ba/-23Cf Boston Globe review of the movie (based on the book): http://articles.boston.com/2012-02-24/arts/31089995_1_battle-royale-movie-dead-body Worlds Lacking Adults Uglies discussion questions: http://scottwesterfeld.com/books/uglies/uglies-discussion-questions/ Read an excerpt of First Test: http://www.tamora-pierce.com/excerpts/kel01.html At the age of 16, everyone has a surgery to make them pretty, a formulaic beauty based on mathematics and angels. But that's not it, some are convinced you get a little something extra during the surgery. Tally's friend Shay decides to stay ugly and run away. And now it's Tally's turn to choose: betray her friend to the government or never turn pretty at all. Book Trailer Book Trailer Book Trailer Book Trailer Book Trailer After the Noise, the women all died. After the Noise, the men can hear each others’ thoughts. After the Noise, there is no such thing as silence or privacy. That is until Todd finds a place and a girl that don’t have voices in his head. The men of the village are hiding something. The only way to stay safe is to run, but how do you run when your pursuers can hear your every thought? Nailer and his 'friends' strip oil tankers for copper wire so they might make enough money to live to see another day. In such desperate times, loyalty is scarce. But then Nailer finds an abandoned clipper ship. Enough to change his life. The only problem is what he also finds on the ship: a girl. Does he save the girl or save himself? Each morning the door to the maze opens. Once every 30 days, a new boy joins the boys remembering only his name. Such is the way of the Glades. Thomas was expected. The girl who appeared the following day was not; neither was her message. The classic morality versus civilization story. When a bunch of English schoolboys crash land on a deserted island, they slowly reject the ways of civilization in favor of a savage community with terrifying results. Published in 1999, Battle Royale takes place in an alternate world Japan where a junior class is taken to a deserted island given weapons and forced to kill each other. If they fail to do so or break the rules an explosive collar blows off their head.

The novel was a success in Japan spawnning both a manga series as well as a movie. Just finished Hunger Games and looking for your next book? Check out these similar books. Use the play button to show each category. You can click on the frame around the author to zoom in further and learn more about the books. Single books are in circles. Series are in rectangular frames.
Thomas might just be the key to escape. If only he could remember. created by Becky Canovan
for Charles C. Myers Library
March 2012
See the full transcript